A superb Victorian listed warehouse dating back to 1850, sympathetically converted into 168 contemporary loft style apartments that retain much of the original cast iron and brickwork. This imposing five-storey building with its iconic central tower dominates Wallasey and the surrounding area.
Built in 1850, East Float Mill is thought to have been designed by G.F. Lyster, the architect responsible for Liverpool’s Waterloo Warehouse. Throughout the 1850’s East Float Mill was used as a departure point for emigrants on ships bound for Australia. In 1866, Alfred Dock was built providing access for cargo ships bringing grain into East Float Mill and as demand for grain increased this became the busiest time for Birkenhead Docks. In 1879, the world’s first ever submarine, Resurgam II was launched into the waters next to East Float Mill. This vessel had the capacity to stay underwater for up to four hours but unfortunately sank near Rhyl in North Wales a year later, the wreck was discovered in 1995. By 1893 a further four mills were built in Birkenhead and Merseyside became the largest flour-milling centre in Europe. Even when trade began to decline, the major flour-milling company Rank Hovis still used East Float Mill almost throughout the twentieth century and this operation only closed in 1999.
The development includes a range of one bedroom double-height apartments and one, two and three bedroom apartments with private parking facilities, lifts and a high specification finish throughout. Residents also have use of the stunning landscaped private courtyard. This pioneering conversion is set to act as a catalyst for the regeneration of the whole area.
East Float has a unique mix of original and modern features. The use of high quality contemporary fixtures and fittings throughout create an interesting juxtaposition between old and new.